Groucho Marx

Much has been written about the famous American comedian and film star Julius Henry “Groucho” Marx. He was a star of the vaudeville, Broadway, Hollywood, radio and television.

Here are some of my favorite Marx one-liners :

A child of five would understand this. Send someone to fetch a child of five.

I have had a perfectly wonderful evening, but this wasn’t it.

I never forget a face, but in your case I’ll be glad to make an exception.

Outside of a dog, a book is a man’s best friend. Inside of a dog it’s too dark to read.

Well, art is art, isn’t it? Still, on the other hand, water is water! And east is east and west is west and if you take cranberries and stew them like applesauce they taste much more like prunes than rhubarb does. Now, uh… now you tell me what you know.

Wives are people who feel they don’t dance enough.

Women should be obscene and not heard.


Groucho Marx

Published in: on October 31, 2007 at 8:14 pm  Comments (1)  

One CommentLeave a comment

  1. Hello, I must be going.
    I cannot stay,
    I came to say
    I must be going.
    I’m glad I came
    but just the same
    I must be going.


Leave a Reply

